Rufo Realty | Newton Real Estate, Brighton Real Estate, Waltham Real Estate, Wellesley Real Estate

1/28/2018 - "Anyone shopping for property in today’s red-hot real estate market should talk to Alex Rufo. Alex worked as a buyer-agent for me in the fall of 2017 when I was searching for a single-family home in the Greater Boston area. As a single, empty nester, my situation was somewhat unique. Most people my age would be looking to downsize, but I was looking to do just the opposite. I had been living in a two-bedroom apartment for a while and wanted to find a small home that would give me more privacy than a condominium without the expense of a large residence. This was a tricky proposition as most of the homes we looked at offered three bedrooms and large lots (perfect for a growing family, but not a good fit for me).

Alex worked tirelessly on my behalf; often attending open houses and meeting other agents when I was unable to do so. He understood my unique priorities and was able to streamline the long and often frustrating process of house hunting. His attitude was always upbeat and never pushy. After many months of searching and countless open house visits, Alex located the perfect property. We were able to view the home before the general public and made an offer that was accepted after some negotiations by Alex in a matter of days. Real estate transactions can be tricky if not handled by an experienced professional. Alex demonstrated all of those skills when putting my deal together.

But that was not the end of the story. Alex has a network of bankers, home inspectors and skilled trades people who were vital in completing the sale. Early on in the home buying process, Alex put me in contact with an experienced banker (loan officer), who quickly prepared pre-approval letters for all of the homes we were interested in. Once we had an accepted offer, our banker made the work of securing a loan, relatively painless. After moving into the house, I used a number of Alex’s contacts to do a variety of projects including masonry, plumbing and tree removal.

I really can’t say enough good things about my experience working with Alex. He is bonafide professional. He certainly goes the extra mile for his clients. I would recommend him to anyone who is considering the purchase or sale of property. If I am in need of a realtor in the future, a call to Alex is the first step for me.”

Jay F.

11/3/2017 – "Alex worked with me for over 6 months helping me to find a beautiful, reasonably priced condo in the complex Newton market. He coordinated everything from reviewing listings through the bids and negotiations, all the way to closing. His recommendations of the inspector, lender and even a handyman were all excellent. I also worked with Alex to rent 2 apartments prior to my purchase. I highly recommend Alex Rufo.”

Steve B.

11/1/2017 – "We found Alex by chance back in 2015 when we were looking for an apartment to rent in the Newton/Waltham area. After looking at many, and having one that we loved fall through, Alex found us a single family home for rent within our budget that far exceeded our expectations. We stayed in that houseuntil this fall when we decided it was time to start searching for a home of our own. We reached out to Alex again and it was the best decision we made. Alex listened to our must haves and dove right into the search. He set up about 10 showings/open houses for us that first weekend and we fell in love in a house in Hudson. Alex wasn't with us for that open house as he had a prior family engagement, but we called him to let him know that we wanted to put in an offer and that we should move fast since there had been a lot of buzz around the house. It was Sunday afternoon but Alex made it a point to get out to Hudson, make an appointment with the seller’s realtor and see the house for himself before putting in an offer on our behalf. He walked us through the whole process (as first time home buyers) and gave us his expert opinion when he felt we needed it. Lucky for us, our offer was the one that was accepted and we credit that largely to Alex! He was there with us every step of the way and was a constant form of support. Now we are happily moved into our Hudson home and would recommend Alex to anyone looking for a realtor.”


Amanda B.

10/29/2017 – "Alex is amazing. He is incredibly responsive and always makes you feel like you are the number one priority. We are in love with our home and thankful that Alex was there to guide us throughout the whole process. His work ethic is unmatched. We had a few houses fall through, which was very disappointing. Alex stuck with us the whole time, keeping us updated and presenting new opportunities. He has a perfect blend of direction and input, while also being respectful to the buyer's requests. Thank you Alex!”

Elizabeth B.

10/20/2017 – "Alex is a true professional, passionate about his practice and his clients. Alex represented me in the sale of a condominium that was transacted seamlessly. His follow through on every aspect of the sale made it effortless; impressive considering the property's location in Boston and mine in California. I hold Alex in the highest regard and recommend him without hesitation.

Andrew S.

10/13/2017 – "Alex is extremely dedicated and goes above and beyond. We had several properties fall through for various (seller issue) reasons and Alex stuck with us for over six months tirelessly working to help us find our home. He is professional and smart with excellent knowledge of the Newton and Wellesley markets where we were looking. He helped us throughout the closing process. He has become a friend and I would highly recommend him to anyone looking for a top tier realtor.”

Adam B.

10/11/2017 – "The top reason you should choose Alex is not that he is so experienced, not that he is so kind and warm-hearted, not that he is so hard-working and meticulous, but that he has the unrivaled passion for his work, which, as I see, serves the source for his above-mentioned qualities. I have seen too many agents who just want to get everything quickly done while fully neglecting the profound value of being a real estate agent. For Alex, I guess this is the thing he loves to do and he wants to be the best, not in terms of quantity of transactions but more of quality. Every contract is an "artwork" for him that he, the artist, wants it to be perfect in the sense of both the deal price and the customer experience. In my experience of purchasing the first home in my life, instead of being agent and client, he is more like a close friend of mine. He patiently and carefully listened to my words and then get to know me and what I want. Even after more than a year since I met him, we are still in a really good relationship so I would definitely go back to him again if needed. Don't take this wrong and suppose he only did these because he could not get an ideal price. In fact, as I buyer, I had a final purchasing price much lower than the estimated price. In Japan, you can be a master of sushi after many years of training based on the love for the work. Why can't you be a master of real estate agents? I suggest if there is a master like that, it would only be Alex."

Z.M.

10/11/2017 – "Alex helped me sell a home in a complex situation and he handled it well. He had to deal with 4 sellers which involved two trusts. This made for a complex transaction and much paperwork. He worked very well with our lawyer. He was patient and helpful. He went out of his way to help ensure thatthe place met the buyer’s requirements. He made sure all deadlines were met. I highly recommend Alex as your agent.


Ken H.

10/10/2017 – "I was impressed with Alex from my first contact with him. Alex was very professional, knowledgeable and personable. Thank you so much for helping us finding our dreams home. Erik and I are really happy in a nice house and we are looking forward to getting a new start on our life. Thanks to you in helping make it happen.


Katie T.
12/5/2016 - After almost 20 years living in a two family house in Newton, with my mother living on the first floor and my sister and me on the second floor, I was faced with the decision to sell our family house following my mother's death. My sister and I needed a change, but I had no recent experience with the market. I turned to a local broker who not only knew the market, the neighborhood and the current buyer interests, Alex was extremely sensitive to my specific situation and respected it. With a few phone calls, Alex found a buyer and helped me through the process of selling for more than list price. His integrity and sensitivity, combined with his experience and calm demeanor, got us through and I will always be grateful. Need a really top broker? My recommendation is to call Alex and let him help you through the biggest, most important financial decision at any stage of your life.
Marijo M.
5/21/2016 - "If I could give more than 5 stars to Alex, I would! As a first-time homebuyer (and a particularly process and detail-oriented person), at no point did I feel like I didn't know what was going on or what the next steps were. Alex did an incredible job quarterbacking my entire homebuying process once  I found the home I wanted to buy: he put me in the best position to get the home I wanted; kept open communication with my lender and attorney; and was incredibly diligent in managing the seller's agent who was less than responsive throughout. We closed on time, as scheduled, without issues. At the end of the day, I would use Alex again in a heartbeat."
Emily D.
12/15/2015 - "I was very pleased, working with Alex Rufo. I have worked with him on three occasions, renting and selling properties. He is very knowledgeable in real estate. His expertise took the worries out. He always got right back to me. It was extremely helpful having him negotiate with the buyers for me. I highly recommend him."
Karen B.
10/3/2015 - "Alex helped my family and I find our perfect home in Wellesley, MA. We were fairly new to the area but Alex's knowledge of the nearby neighborhoods made our process run smoothly. He is a very hard-working and reliable person, even when we would contact him with late-night/last minute questions. Alex was willing to go above and beyond with our search for a house from the day we started to the day we moved in. He was always willing to make time to help us and was always prepared when it came to the next step of the house-buying process. When it comes to those buying/selling a home, I can think of no one better to recommend than Alex."
Nadia C.
9/29/2015 - "Alex exceeded our expectations in every aspect of finding our dream house.  His attention to detail was exceptional and he made the negotiating process extremely smooth. Alex was with us through every step of the process. When issues arose we were never stressed based on Alex's experience and professionalism. I would highly recommend Alex if you are buying or selling. He is a true all star."
Rob K.
9/26/2015 - "Alex Rufo is knowledgeable, professional, and reliable. This past August he represented my husband and I in the sale of our condo and a purchase of a home. Alex worked hard to get our condo sold and to find us our dream house. He was always available by phone throughout the process and he followed up with all parties involved regularly to ensure that our sales went through on time. Alex was able to get us a cash buyer for our condo after our FIRST open house and he was able to line up the sale of our condo with the purchase of our house! It was a pleasure working with Alex and I highly recommend him as a real estate agent. He's amazing."
Sheila I.
5/29/2015 - Alex was a pleasure to work with! I am a first time home-owner who has been watching the metro-Boston market for years trying to build up enough savings for a down-payment, and build up the nerve to start my real estate search. I met Alex about a year ago inquiring about a rental unit, and I hinted that I was watching the market and probably a 1+ year out from looking to purchase. He reached back out to me and set me up with an MLS search for my desired metro-Boston criteria. Something in the search caught my eye and within an hour of emailing Alex, I had my first showing set up to see it that weekend! It is very intimidating to be a property virgin in such an expensive area like Boston, but having the right realtor can make all the difference. Alex is knowledgeable about the area and the home buying process, and his enthusiasm to help me find my perfect first home mirrored my enthusiasm. When we reached a deal with the sellers, Alex had a list of trusted, competent, responsive professionals that helped me complete the home buying process with as little stress as possible. Anyone can sell you a house, but I'm so happy that Alex was able to guide me through the process of finding my first home!
Chrissy M.
5/19/2015 - Back in December I purchased my first home and I know without a doubt that had it not been for the attention and care of Alex Rufo I very likely would not be a homeowner at the moment. You see, I went through one of these insanely frantic home-buying experiences you hear about in a competitive market like Boston, and Alex was there every step of the way guiding our every move, crossing the t's and dotting the i's. It was through this attention to detail and level of awareness that I was able to make the right decisions at the rights times, and overcome numerous hurdles in the process. First, I was coming in with less than stellar credit, and Alex put me in touch with the right folks to ensure I would get the best possible mortgage situation, which far exceeded my expectations. Second, when the dreaded "bidding war" began between myself and another party, Alex's counsel allowed me to emerge ahead with an accepted offer below asking price. I couldn't believe it. And finally, and perhaps most important, when the seller attempted to back out after I had given my landlord notice and incurred financial losses on legal fees and inspections, Alex really stepped up to the plate for me. Through his firm but diplomatic approach, and skill at negotiation, the seller was convinced to come back to the table without my ever having to get an attorney involved. That speaks volumes in my opinion. If you are in the market, buying or selling, I highly recommend you attain his services. He is a true professional.
Ignacio F.

5/13/2015– "We were not in Massachusetts when we put our house up for sale. Alex and his colleague took care of everything, from setting up the open houses, making sure the house was ready to show, shoveling to get into the house. He even did some last minute cleaning to make sure the house showed it best. He took care of all the necessary paper work, and representing us at the closing (as we were still outside of Massachusetts). We had complete confidence in him throughout the whole process. He did everything that needed to be done, everything that we expected, and MORE. I would HIGHLY recommend him to anyone who is planning to sell or buy a home!


Bob A.
10/20/2014 - "Alex Rufo guided me through the process of finding an apartment in Newton. His patience and humor helped enormously. He also ensured that I got the apartment by gauging the landlord's priorities correctly. I would definitely work with Alex again. Highly recommended!"
Catie C.
9/28/2014 - "Alex is a joy to work with. He was happy to work with us to find an apartment even though we were very picky clients. No request was too much for us to make. He worked hard and with great integrity. I'm happy to recommend Alex as a wonderful real estate agent."
Sue Ann W.
9/9/2014 - "Alex was able to find a great tenant for my condominium on short notice, two weeks, in a neighborhood where other apartments were on the market for upward of two months. He was very professional and courteous from beginning to end. Thanks to Alex, I barely had to lift a finger. I recommend him without hesitation."
Andrew S.
9/7/2014 - "I met Alex after reaching out to him about a home he was listing just West of Boston. He turned out to be one of those rare real estate agents who brings a combination of professionalism, first rate client service and high integrity to bear in working with this customers. The deal fell through because the novice landlord was uncooperative, after which time Alex gave up the listing because he felt the landlord was being unprofessional. He subsequently followed up to offer other options and to assist me with my search in any way he can. Wow! Let's just say, I've kept Alex's phone number, as he has gotten to the top of my list as a preferred real estate services professional - for me and others I will refer to him!"
Gilouse V.
9/4/2014 - "Alex is very devoted to his job and loyal to his customers. He is intelligent and trustworthy."
Michael S.
8/22/2014 - "My daughter needed to find a place to live in Boston. It was her first time buying a home. We asked Alex to help her find a place and help her through the whole process. He was awesome! Together they selected a Boston neighborhood that was within her price range and would be a fun place to live within easy reach of downtown Boston. He was exceptionally responsive and helpful. He provided excellent recommendations for house inspectors and lawyers both of whom also provided outstanding service. She has now returned to her Irish roots and is happily installed in a condo in Southie. If you need a home in the Greater Boston area give Alex a call, you will not be disappointed. Thanks Alex."
Sam D.
8/7/2014 - "Alex was extremely helpful throughout the whole apartment finding process. He immediately responds to queries and is very personable and knowledgeable. I have already recommended and referred him to friends, and would definitely work with him again in the future!"
Sarah P.
8/5/2014 - "Alex is a wonderful agent. He is very knowledgeable and charismatic. I appreciated his honesty and warm personality. I will definitely recommend him to friends and family!"
Wendy A.
8/3/2014 - "My husband and I contacted Alex to help us in our relocation from the Midwest to Boston, and he was the perfect choice in every way. Since we planned to view and select our new home over a long weekend trip to Boston, Alex worked closely with us in the weeks and days leading up to our visit- answering our many questions about neighborhoods, schools, and the entire realty process. His patience, preparation, and attention to our specific needs resulted in us being able to find our new home by the end of our visit. Alex is very personable yet professional, and he made himself available to show us new listings on very short notice. Even after our realty transaction was complete, Alex followed up with us to offer additional help and information as we made our long-distance transition to the Boston area. We look forward to working with Alex in the future for all of our realty needs."
Melissa M.
3/8/2014 - "My wife and I were put in a bind to find a place in a short amount of time. We met Alex after responding to an ad online and could not have been more impressed and grateful for the way he conducts his business. Alex is a true professional and someone I highly recommend to anyone looking for a house or apartment. He's attentive, listens, and genuinely cares for his customers (you). Thank you, Alex, for all your help!"
Ben D.
3/4/2014 - "Alex has helped me out on numerous occasions and is a tremendous asset to our firm. He consistently closes almost every lead he is given. He is meticulously organized, which allows him to be incredibly efficient at all times. In the past year, Alex has helped me out countless times when I most needed it and with short notice. Alex is truly an exceptional agent."
Kara A.
3/4/2014 - "I have had the pleasure of working with Alex Rufo for some time. We have worked various transactions together, and I have been able to watch him from afar. He has shown the utmost professionalism, and attentiveness to each of his clients’ needs and concerns. He is tireless in his pursuit to attain the best possible deal, whether it is for a rental client, a buyer or seller. His attention to detail is impeccable. He is an asset to our office, and to any current or future client."
George J.
3/3/2014 - "Alex recently helped us buy our first home and we couldn't have done it without him! His colleague who we'd been working with was away on vacation, so Alex stepped in and accompanied us so we wouldn't miss any time looking. He accompanied us to an open house we were interested in and the next day helped us put in what would be the winning offer. His advice and expertise on communicating with the seller and understanding the demand for the property was essential in our landing the house. He even took it a step further and accompanied us on the home inspection to make sure everything looked good with the property. We would have never gotten our house without Alex's help and we're so thankful for all he did for us. He made the process clear, understandable, and stress free!"
Andrew H.
2/27/2014 - "My boyfriend and I came across Alex after blindly inquiring about a posting we found online. After chatting with him a bit, he started forwarding apartment listings to us and made sure to check in every week or so to see if anything caught our eye and after a few weeks, we found an apartment that we wanted to view. In the past, I've come across agents who want you to make a decision on the spot after seeing an apartment. Personally, as someone who doesn't do that very easily, it stood out that Alex was very respectful of our decision making process but honest about the rarity of the listing. A day later, we were filling out an application and putting down a deposit. Overall, it was a pleasure working with Alex and will absolutely keep him in mind for future moves."
Sarah D.
2/21/2014 - "My partner and I worked with Alex to find the perfect rental home. We were in an unusual situation with our five cats and one dog, but Alex jumped right in and started looking for our new place. He sent me daily updates with apartments that might work for us, and did all the background work to see if the landlord was open to our pets. When we finally found "the one," he closed the deal and we had the keys in less than 24 hours. He took great care to find us a place in the area we wanted, our ideal price range, and with all the amenities that were important to us. He even found us a place with a huge fenced in backyard for our dog. Alex is incredibly responsive to emails, calls, and texts, and I felt completely comfortable and confident working with him. We are definitely going back to him if we need to move, and definitely when we buy our first home!"
Rebecca M.
Loading